Letters from Camp by Jamie Lee Curtis – Audible Original Podcast Review

Facebook | Instagram  | Twitter Goodreads 

Letters from Camp (An Audible Original Podcast)
Created by Jamie Lee Curtis
Co-created and Written by Boco Haft
Performed by a Full Cast
Released on August 26, 2020

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Dear Kelly

Oh how I devoured this podcast drama from Audible in one night. The main character, Michaela “Mookie” Hooper, is a precocious 11-year-old. She wants to become a journalist taking after her mom—Caroline Goodman— who is a famous investigative reporter from CNN.

As the title would suggest, the story is told with Mookie writing letters every week to someone named Kelly while she’s in camp. I never knew who Kelly was to Mookie from the entirety of the podcast series. It started with Mookie and her mom waiting for the bus ride to arrive to take her to an 8-week summer camp in a place called Camp Cartwright in Maine. This place is fictional. I learned about this after I finished listening. Director Sue (played by Jamie Lee Curtis) officially welcomed Mookie and introduced her to her Acorn bunkmate Jenna L. Mookie did not receive a warm welcome from the beginning. She knew that it would be a long 6 hour bus drive before they reached their destination.

Mookie’s character is what I love most about this podcast. I somehow saw myself in her during my pre-teen years. Trying my best to fit in but also wanting to be accepted for who I am. Mookie is not your typical 11-year-old. She is precocious, more advanced for her age, more curious, eloquent, has tangible goals in life—special. Because of that, she is often misunderstood by her peers like she is speaking to them in a foreign language. Nevertheless, the program was able to keep Mookie’s 11-year-old self as she tried to make friends and act as best as she could to be a regular camper.

The timeliness of its release is perfect before summer ends to give the kids a camping experience as COVID-19 has put a stop to summer camping this year. Great listen for both children and adults, as a family, or if you are just like me, who likes an entertaining camping story (with mystery) told in an epistolary fashion. 

The podcast includes 8 episodes with approximately half an hour long coinciding with Mookie’s 8 weeks in summer camp.

Week 1: Welcome to Camp Cartwright (June 22, 2005)

Week 2: The Swim Test (June 29, 2005)

Week 3: Trip Day (July 6, 2005)

Week 4: The Talent Show (July 13, 2005)

Week 5: Rainy Day Activity (July 20, 2005)

Week 6: Camp Musical (July 27, 2005)

Week 7: Color War (August 3, 2005)

Week 8: Final Banquet (August 10, 2005)

As expected from an Audible Original, this is another quality drama podcast that I enjoyed both the performance and the story. I have no doubt this will be a great all-star audio drama based on the cast. I enjoyed it very much that when I woke up in the middle of the night I listened to it for two hours and had to force myself to go back to sleep. Definitely one that I would put under my relisten category.

Author: Nica

I am fond reading, travel, audiobooks, thriller, nature, photography, and food. I review books as a hobby.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started